Plan Commission

The Plan Commission shall consist of nine (9) members; said members to be residents of the City, appointed by the Mayor on the basis of their particular fitness for their duty on the Plan Commission and subject to the approval of the City Council. 
The members shall serve for a period of three (3) years. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term only. All members of the Commission shall serve without compensation, except that if the City Council deems it advisable, they may receive such compensation as provided by the City Council by appropriation

The Plan Commission shall have the following powers and duties: 

  1. To prepare and recommend to the City Council a comprehensive plan for the present and future development or redevelopment of the City and contiguous unincorporated territory not more than one and one-half (1 1/2) miles beyond the corporate limits of the City and not included in any other municipality. Such plan may be adopted in whole or in separate geographical or functional parts, each of which, when adopted, shall be the official comprehensive plan or part thereof of the City. Such plan shall be advisory except as to such part thereof as has been implemented by ordinances duly enacted by the City Council.   All requirements for public hearing, filing of notice of adoption with the County Recorder of Deeds, and filing of the plan and ordinances with the City Clerk shall be complied with as provided for by law. To provide for the health, safety, comfort, and convenience of the inhabitants of the City and contiguous territory, such plan or plans shall establish reasonable standards of design for subdivisions and for resubdivisions of unimproved land and of areas subject to redevelopment in respect to public improvements as herein defined and shall establish reasonable requirements governing the location, width, course, and surfacing of public streets and highways, alleys, ways for public service facilities, curbs, gutters, sidewalks, street lights, parks, playgrounds, school grounds, size of lots to be used for residential purposes, storm water drainage, water supply and distribution, sanitary sewers, and sewage collection and treatment. The requirements specified herein shall become regulatory only when adopted by law.
  2. To designate land suitable for annexation to the City and the recommended zoning classification for such land upon annexation.
  3. To recommend to the City Council, from time to time, such changes in the comprehensive plan or any part thereof, as may be deemed necessary.
  4. To prepare and recommend to the City Council, from time to time, plans and/or recommendations for specific improvements in pursuance to the official comprehensive plan.
  5. To give aid to the officials of the City charged with the direction of projects for improvements embraced within the official plan or parts thereof, to further the making of such improvements and generally, to promote the realization of the official comprehensive plan.
  6. To arrange and conduct any form of publicity relative to its activities for the general purpose of public understanding.
  7. To cooperate with municipal or regional plan commissions and other agencies or groups to further the local plan program and to assure harmonious and integrated planning for the area subject to approval of the City Council.
  8. To exercise such other powers germane to the powers granted under authority of an act of the General Assembly of the State of Illinois, as may be conferred by the City Council. 

             Members of the Murphysboro Plan Commission:

             Mike Jones – Chairman
             Clay Cochran
             Bruce Davis
             Robert Eaton
             H. Blaine Ensor
             Amy Novara Murphy
             Lauralee Ryan
             Kate Westphal